Sharks Sign Ricci & Marchment – To Front Office Posts

In the 1999-2000 season, I bought customized jerseys of my three favorite Sharks players- Owen Nolan, Mike Ricci, and Bryan Marchment. In time, all three left San Jose for other clubs. Ricci just recently announced his retirement, which was a bit sad for me to see him leave the ice.

 So, it gave me great pleasure to learn of the announcement of Mike’s return to San Jose, along with Bryan Marchment, to front office positions. From the Sharks’ web article:

“My only personal goals are to repay the Sharks organization and the Bay Area,” said Ricci. “San Jose has a big place in my heart. When I was traded to San Jose, my buddies said I wasn’t much of a California boy, but it’s now known as a hockey town and there is so much hunting and fishing. We want to raise our kids here.”

Now Ricci will handle front office work instead of skating out through the Sharks head.

“This is an organization with great coaches a great staff,” said Ricci. “Everyone is here to win.”

Ricci’s role is not 100 percent defined, but he will definitely have a hand in forming the Sharks both on and off-the-ice by bringing his lifetime of hockey experience to the table.

TSN’s report included word on Mush:

Marchment’s duties will include working with players in San Jose and Worcester, as well as scouting Sharks prospects at the college and Canadian major junior levels.  He will also serve as an advisor to the hockey operations department.

I have little doubt that they will serve in the office in the same tenacious way both played on the ice. Time to bring those jerseys back from the back of the closet!

Leave a comment